Nestled in the stunning Clarks Fork River Valley and surrounded by sugar beet and corn farmland, Fromberg Schools is perched at the peak of Fromberg, Montana. Its student population hovers above 100, drawing not only from Fromberg and its community, but also from the surrounding towns all the way to Laurel.
The original elementary school was constructed in 1908 and the high school was built in 1916. The first graduating class from Fromberg High School was in 1916 and consisted of six students. A gymnasium addition, which now houses the shop, was added on in 1926. In 1939, the original 1916 building was demolished and a new brick high school was constructed. This 1939 brick building, though it has been remodeled and updated, is the home of Fromberg high school students today.
In 1955, a separate gymnasium building which also houses the weight room and music classroom was erected on the Fromberg school grounds. The high school and the remaining original section of the elementary school were registered with the Montana Historical Society in 1993.
Students heading to class through Fromberg high school’s halls walk the same paths and sit in the same classrooms that FHS students have taken for generations. Although the buildings and grounds have been updated with the times, Fromberg Schools’ commitment to education and the betterment of the lives of its students remains steady and unchanged.